From the Streets of Galway to the mountains of the Swiss Valais, Irish athletes were in action. Lindie Naughton reports. 

Big road race of the weekend was the annual Streets of Galway 8km on Friday evening (August 11), where David McGlynn of Waterford AC led home 2,437 finishers in 24 mins 7 secs. Craughwell AC athletes took the next two places with William Fitzgerald second in 24:31 and Jamie Fallon third in 24:37.

Finishing eleventh overall and first woman in 26:46 was recently crowned Irish 5000m champion Íde Nic Dhomhnaill of West Limerick AC. Second woman in 28:21 was Laura Mooney, while third and first W40 in 28:40 was Norah Newcombe-Pieterse of Mayo AC.

Ide Nic Dhomhnaill (West Limerick AC) winning the women’s 5000m Photo: Lindie Naughton

Runners had travelled from all over the country to run and first M40 in 26:58 was Karol Cronin of Sportsworld AC, with his clubmate Gareth Murran second M40 in 27:18.

5 and 10k racing

On Sunday at the Malone Integrated College, Conall McClean was the winner of the Féile 10k in 31;05, with Lorcan McClean second in 34:39 and Gladys Ganiel third and first woman in 36:08. Winning the 5km were Finn Diver in 16:08 and Catherine Diver in 19:10.

David McCarthy of West Waterford AC clocked a time of 14 mins 23 to win the United Striders 5km Stride at Rosbercon, New Ross, Co Wexford on Friday (August 11).

Mossy Bracken of Moycarkey Coolcroo AC was second in 14:50 and Dermot Gorman of Carrick-on-Suir AC third and first M40 in 14:54. DMP AC’s Ciara Wilson was first woman in 16:30, followed by Roisin O’Reilly of UCD AC in 16:42 and Kealey Tideswell of Clonmel AC in 17:09, who was also first W40.

In Co Meath that same evening, James Sherlock of Bohermeen AC was the winner of the Kells AC 5km Heritage Run, in 17 mins 52 secs. Fourth and first woman in 18:20 was Laura McDonnell of Rathfarnham WSAF AC. The course was slightly long.

Oisin Lane, better known as a race walker, was a clear winner of the Longford 5km Trail Series Day 2, at Corlea Bog on Wednesday (August 9) in a time of 17 mins 05 secs. Second in 17:51 was Kevin Looby of Naomh Mhuire. First woman in 21:16 was Sinead Nolan of Longford AC

Rosses AC athletes dominated Carrickfin Coastal Run 10km on Bank Holiday Monday (August 7), with Declan Ferry the winner followed by his clubmates Shane O’Donnell and Charlie O’Donnell. First woman was Maria Mulligan, followed by Bernie Boyle and Martina Mulhern.

Photo: Lindie Naughton

Track time

A titanic battle between defending champions Clonliffe Harriers and Leevale AC in the men’s premier division proved the highlight of the All Ireland Track and Field Championships in Tullamore on Sunday (August 13).

After a long day’s competition, Clonliffe had accumulated the most points over the twelve track and eight field events. But when the top fifteen results only were counted, it was Leevale AC, runners-up last year, who came out on top, denying Clonliffe an eighth consecutive win.

In the women’s competition, Dundrum South Dublin AC was taking an eighth consecutive title and a twelfth overall. Sprinters again took centre stage Winning the first division titles were the Raheny Shamrock men and the Tullamore Harriers women. Highlights for Raheny included an epic victory for Stephen Fay in the 5000m.

In the county championships, Galway County won the men’s title, while East Cork beat Tipperary in the women’s category with junior athlete Avril Mellerick winning the 3,000m in some style.

Aging like a fine wine

At the All-Ireland Masters Championships a day earlier, fastest time of the day in the women’s 1500m came from Fiona Kehoe of Kilmore AC who won the M40 title with a time of 4: 39.46. First home and first W40 in the women’s 3000m in 10:09.21 was Fiona Gettings of Longford AC. Second and first W35 was Carole Finn of Leevale AC in 10:12.82, with Eden Gaffney of Trim AC third and second W35 in 10:16.06.

James Ledingham of Kilkenny City Harriers clocked a time of 4:18.24 to win the men’s 1500m and finished first M35 in 4:18.24. Ronan Moore of Trim AC was first M40 in 4:26.10.

Running a smart race to win the men’s M35 5000m in 15:58.01 was Cathal McHale of Clonliffe Harriers. McHale tucked stayed with the lead pack for most of the race, only making his break with the line in sight. Second in 15:59.83 was James Hayes of Cork TC, with James McCarthy of East Cork AC third in 16:05.07.

Barry Twohig, also part of the leading bunch for much of the race, was first M40 in 16:05.86. Fergus Nugent of Eagle AC was first M45 in 16:16.29 and Declan Toal of North East Runners first M50 in 16:24.98.

Other winners were Paddy Corr (Keep ‘er Lit AC) M55, Patrick O’Grady (Drogheda and District AC) M60, Tommy Payne (Tinryland AC) M65, Alan Doyle (Dunshaughlin AC) M70, Richard Piotrowski (Eagle AC) M75 and Billy Caball (St Finbarr’s AC) M80.

At the European Athletics U20 Championships, Jerusalem, Israel held from Monday to Thursday last week (August 7-10), Nicolas Griggs of Belfast Candour Track Club finished second in a tactical men’s 3000m, losing out in the chase for the line. Griggs had won the 3000m two years ago at the age of sixteen. Ireland’s only win came in the women’s long jump, won by Elizabeth Ndudi of Dundrum South Dublin AC.

Ultra and mountain running

Stephen Murphy of Tullamore Harriers not only won the Connemara 100, in Clifden, Co Galway on Saturday (August 12), but set a course record of 13 hrs 32 mins 41 secs for the 100-mile course having led for much of the way.

Second in 14:46.10 was Nediljko Barac, while third was Paul Twomey in 15 hrs 45 mins 36 secs. 9th. First female finisher was Maria Westerlund in 17 hrs 11 mins 58 secs, followed by Lorraine McMahon in 17:45.26 and Jenny Elliott York in 18:52.16.

Sarah McCormack finished 36th in the Sierre-Zinal Valsir Mountain Running World Cup race on Saturday (August 12) clocking 3 hrs 29 mins for the gruelling 31km with 2200m climb in the beautiful Val d’Anniviers, Valais, Switzerland.


Cillian Fleming in 4 hrs 5 mins 41 secs and Laura O’Driscoll in 4:40.42 were the winners at the Bluestack Way 50km on August 5. First home in the 25km were Eoin Boyle of Rosses AC in 2:26.18 and Karen Crane in 2:59.22.