It was a quiet weekend for Irish endurance running, but Lindie Naughton still has all of the action we could find. 

Abdel Laadjel of Donore Harriers made a small piece of Irish athletics history when he broke the national U20 10,000m record at the Raleigh Relays Meet in North Carolina, USA, on Friday (March 25)

Laadjel’s time of 29 mins 23.92 secs broke Frank Greally’s record of 30:17 set in 1970 – that’s fifty-two years ago!

In the same race, senior athlete Barry Keane of Waterford AC finished a fighting second in 28:15.60 to finish in second place, less than two seconds behind the race winner.

Brian Fay of Raheny Shamrock was fourth in 28:22.31; Fearghal Curtin of Youghal AC, making his 10,000m debut, eighth in 28:25.43 and David McGlynn of Waterford AC 21st in a PB of 29:04.92. Laadjel, who is aged 18 and clearly has a promising future in the sport, finished 34th.

Road running

Efrem Gidey of Clonliffe Harriers and Fionnuala McCormack of Kilcoole AC were runaway winners at the Dunboyne 10kms on Sunday (March 27).

Gidey, who was on his own almost from the gun, finished in 28 mins 25 secs — a minute and forty-five seconds ahead of Jake O’Regan from St John’s AC who was second in 30:10.

McCormack, a four times Olympian, finished eleventh overall in 32:27. Finishing second in 34:56 was Ciara Hickey of Brothers Pearse AC. With the race held in perfect conditions, both winning times were course records.

In the club competition, Mullingar Harriers proved best of the women, with 78 points, Crusaders AC with 83 points were a close second and host club Dunboyne AC third with 1134 points.

A surprise winner of the men’s team category was Portmarnock AC, led home by Jamie Gahan in seventh place. With 86 points, Portmarnock finished well clear of Donore Harriers on 134 points and Brothers Pearse AC third with 171 points.

In the Meath Championships, Dunboyne took both men and women’s titles.

Gaol Break Half

Prolific racers Tudor Moldavan of Clonliffe Harriers won the Wicklow Gaol Break Half Marathon on Sunday in a time of 70 mins 18 secs. Given the same time for second place was Sean Hehir of Metro St Brigid’s AC. The pair were the class of the field.

First woman in 86:16 was Niamh Staunton followed closely by Michelle Jordan in 87:11.

Niall Shanahan of An Bru AC won the men’s title in 20 mins 23 secs at the Limerick County Board 4-Mile also on Sunday.

Declan Moore of Bilboa AC was second in 20:46 and Paul Fitzgerald of Limerick third and first M40 in 21:19. West Limerick AC took the senior team category, with Limerick AC best in both the novice class and Masters’ M35 classes.

Dooneen AC dominated the women’s race taking the top three places and the senior team category. Clare Coleman was first in 26:12, Sinead McDermott second in 26:48 and Eadaoin Hennessy third in 27.07. West Limerick AC took the novice and masters W35 team categories.

In Cork, Pat Hennessy of West Waterford AC in15 mins 42 secs and junior athlete Rachael Walsh of Grange Fermoy AC in 20:07 were the winners at the Bishopstown Lions 5km.

Photo: Mick Hanney/IMRA

Trail running

Dylan McEvoy was the winner of the Maurice Mullins Wicklow Mountains Ultra 50km on Saturday (March 26).

Gavin Byrne finished second and Enda Cloake third on a new longer route from the Pier Gates near Lough Tay to the Glencullen Bridge on Boranaraltry lane and then back to the start.

First home of the women was Sarah Brady, followed by Becky Quinn and Lean Ní Chiobháin.


Top Irish performance at the IAB Schools Cross-Country International, Pembrey National Park, Wales on Saturday (March 276) came from Cormac Dixon from HFCS in Rathcoole.

In the boy’s inter 6000m, Dixon finished second just six seconds behind the winner Robert Price of England. With four finishers in the top 12, the Irish boys’ team finished second behind a dominant England squad.

The English made a clean sweep of all four team titles on offer.