parkrun Ireland celebrated hitting the one million mark this weekend, and of course, there was some fast running involved too. Here are the quickest times on Saturday (April 7).

Ben Branagh ran 15:19 at the Waterworks parkrun in Belfast to record the quickest time across the island of Ireland, which was also featured as number two in the UK on Saturday.

The St Malachy’s AC runner was taking part in his 20th parkrun and has a road 5k best of 14:38 from last year.

Naas AC’s Shane Coffey was second overall this week and the quickest in the South of Ireland running 16:00 at his local Naas parkrun.

The fastest time among the women went to Ciara Hickey at the Marlay parkrun in Dublin. The Brothers Pearse runner clocked 17:25 in her 22nd parkrun outing.

Four-time world cross country silver medalist Catherina McKiernan was back at parkrun for the 15th time and ran the second fastest time this week with 17:37 at the Malahide parkrun.

Shileen O’Kane ran the quickest time in Northern Ireland at the Queen’s parkrun. The Lagan Valley runner ran a best 19:18 in her 22nd parkrun.

Teenager Emma Mulholland was once again among the top 10 running a parkrun best 19:20 at Citypark in Craigavon.

10 fastest men

1) parkrun: Waterworks, Belfast
Ben Branagh, 15:19, St Malachy’s AC
2) parkrun: Naas
Shane Coffey, 16:00, Naas AC
3) parkrun: Musa Cookstown
Vincent McAlister, 16:26, Acorns AC
4) parkrun: Shanganagh
Ben Paviour, 16:39, Reading Roadrunners
5) parkrun: Marlay
James Kelly, 16:43, Castlecomer AC
6) parkrun: Castletown
Lee Van Haeften, 16:51, Herne Hill Harriers
7) parkrun: Gorey
Paul Lynch, 16:55, Sliabh Buidhe Rovers AC
8) parkrun: Belfast Victoria
Alex Donald, 16:59, North Down AC
9) parkrun: Belfast Victoria
Stuart Donald, 16:59, North Down AC
10) parkrun: Longford
Eamon Mcandrew, 17:00

10 fastest women

1) parkrun: Marlay
Ciara Hickey, 17:25, Brothers Pearse
2) parkrun: Malahide
Catherina McKiernan, 17:37
3) parkrun: Malahide
Sinead Lambe, 18:12, Donore Harriers
4) parkrun: Kilkenny
Siobhan O’Doherty, 18:45
5) parkrun: Marlay
Sinéad Murtagh, 19:02, Newcastle & District
6) parkrun: Oranmore
Sinead Brody, 19:02, Galway City Harriers
7) parkrun: Queen’s Belfast
Shileen O’Kane, 19:18, Lagan Valley AC
8) parkrun: Citypark Craigavon
Emma Mulholland, 19:20, St Peters GAC
9) parkrun: Musa Cookstown
Leanne Sands, 19:21, Acorns AC
10) parkrun: Marlay
Ciara Brady, 19:23