Irish women’s marathon record holder, parkrun tourists and fast teenagers took over this weekend’s parkruns across the island of Ireland. Here are the quickest times on Saturday (February 17).

Catherina Mckiernan, Ireland’s fastest ever female marathoner was back at parkrun and recorded the quickest women’s time. The multiple World Cross Country medalist ran 17:47 in Malahide, Dublin.

Brian Murphy, taking part in his 18th parkrun, is top of the men’s list. The Carrick Aces runner ran 16:03 in Tramore, Waterford.

parkrun tourists feature heavily this week, with Highgate Harriers pair Fergal Smithwick and Emma Burgess both appearing in the top three.

The pair were over from England to compete in the Armagh 5k last Thursday and extended their stay to take part in the Castlewellan parkrun. While in Cork, Northern Irish runner Brian Kinsella must have been on his holidays running 16:43 at the Ballincollig parkrun.

Also in the men’s top 10 list, no fewer than three teenagers feature. Conall McClean in his 111th parkrun ran a best 16:26 at the Waterworks in Belfast, followed closely by another youngster Tony Mc Cambridge in his 138th parkrun.

Northern Irish teenagers clearly love parkrun with Gavin McCaffrey also making it into the top 10 at Stormont in Belfast.

Top 10 men

1) parkrun: Tramore, Waterford
Brian Murphy, 16:03, Carrick Aces AC
2) parkrun: Waterworks, Belfast
Conall McClean, 16:26
3) parkrun: Castlewellan, Down
Fergal Smithwick, 16:28, Highgate Harriers
4) parkrun: St Anne’s, Dublin
Graham O’Dwyer, 16:41, Raheny Shamrock
5) parkrun: Ballincollig, Cork
Brian Kinsella, 16:43, Willowfield Harriers
6) parkrun: Belfast Victoria
Christopher Moren, 16:52, Willowfield Harriers
7) parkrun: Waterworks, Belfast
Tony Mc Cambridge, 16:52
8) parkrun: Stormont, Belfast
Gavin McCaffrey, 16:54, Ballymena & Antrim AC
9) parkrun: Malahide, Dublin
William Walsh, 16:55, Raheny Shamrock
10) parkrun: Cootehill, Cavan
Fabian Downs, 16:56, Chiltern Harriers

Top 10 women

1) parkrun: Malahide, Dublin
Catherina Mckiernan, 17:47
2) parkrun: Castlewellan, Down
Emma Burgess, 18:26, Highgate Harriers
3) parkrun: Belfast Victoria
Amy Bulman, 18:32, Willowfield Harriers
4) parkrun: St Anne’s, Dublin
Lucy Barrett, 19:09, Raheny Shamrock
5) parkrun: Clarisford, Clare
Ailbhe McDaid, 19:12
6) parkrun: Marlay, Dublin
Sarah Baryga, 19:17
7) parkrun: Marlay, Dublin
Lynne Hennessy, 19:20, Rathfarnham Wsaf
8) parkrun: Father Collins, Dublin
Alannah Cooley, 19:23, Clonliffe Harriers
9) parkrun: Ballincollig, Cork
Rosaleen Mackeown, 19:35, Leevale AC
10) parkrun: Antrim
Jana Ross, 19:40 County Antrim Harriers