Peter Arthur takes the men’s honours as Catherina McKiernan tops the women’s parkrun rankings on Saturday.

Peter Arthur ran 15:28 at the Waterstown parkrun to record the fastest time across the island of Ireland on Saturday (January 19).

The Liffey Valley runner, who has a 5000m personal best of 15:05, was running at parkrun for the first time.

Catherina McKiernan recorded the quickest women’s time across Ireland after a 17:31 run at the Malahide event. It was parkrun number 25 for Ireland’s marathon record holder.

Martin Cox claimed the men’s number two spot after a 16:09 run at the Musa Cookstown event. The Carmen Runners athlete was running in his 30th parkrun.

Eimear O’Brien posted 18:38 at the Sligo event to record the second quickest women’s time on Saturday. It was a parkrun best for Sligo AC runner on her third visit to the Saturday morning event.

One runner without a barcode missed out on the men’s top 10 after a 17:05 run at the Marlay parkrun.

Belfast Victoria was the most represented parkrun with three runners across the men’s and women’s top 10.

Men’s top 10

1) parkrun: Waterstown
Peter Arthur, 15:28, Liffey Valley AC
2) parkrun: Musa Cookstown
Martin Cox, 16:09, Carmen Runners
3) parkrun: Ballincollig
Mark Smith, 16:41 Eagle AC
4) parkrun: St Anne’s
Colm Cassidy, 16:43, Raheny Shamrock
5) parkrun: Antrim
David Conliffe, 16:56, Pace Running Club
6) parkrun: Belfast Victoria
Joshua Paul Courtney, 17:02, Ballymena & Antrim AC
7) parkrun: Belfast Victoria
Jonathan Escalante-Phillips, 17:04, Cambridge & Coleridge
8) parkrun: Ormeau Belfast
Paul Rowan, 17:05, Willowfield Harriers
9) parkrun: Oldbridge
Simon Ryan, 17:06, Raheny Shamrock
10) parkrun: Marlay
Valter Valente, 17:11

Women’s top 10

1) parkrun: Malahide
Catherina McKiernan, 17:31
2) parkrun: Sligo
Eimear O’Brien, 18:38, Sligo AC
3) parkrun: Portrush
Gemma McDonald, 18:39, Ballycastle Runners
4) parkrun: Shanganagh
Sarah Baryga, 18:43
5) parkrun: Belfast Victoria
Leann Gibson, 18:48, Victoria Park & Connswater AC
6) parkrun: Shanganagh
Amy Moran, 18:50, Dundrum South Dublin
7) parkrun: Marlay
Lynne Hennessy, 18:54, Rathfarnham Wsaf
8) parkrun: Clonakilty
Carmel Crowley, 19:13
9) parkrun: Limerick
Ailbhe McDaid, 19:14
10) parkrun: Ballincollig
Martina Kiely, 19:16, St Finbarrs AC

If you would like to run faster at parkrun, top tips to help runners of all abilities can be found here.

RELATED: 7 ways to run faster at parkrun

Are you a fan of Fast Running? Then please support us and become a patron. For as little as the price of a monthly magazine you can support Fast Running – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.