Mark McKinstry and Fionnuala Ross are among the athletes named in the NI team for next month’s IAAF permitted cross country meet.

Northern Ireland has named its team for the IAAF Northern Ireland International Cross Country on January 19.

The top cross country international meet will take place at the Billy Neill Centre of Excellence, Dundonald after 10 years at the Greenmount Campus in Antrim.

The senior men’s team for the Home Countries match brings together British and Irish Masters Cross Country champion, Mark McKinstry, with fellow masters athlete, Declan Reed, Commonwealth Games steeplechaser, Adam Kirk Smith and Conor Duffy who ran 30:34 at the recent Telford 10km.

Fionnuala Ross leads the women’s team after representing Ireland at this month’s European Cross Country Championships.

Ross, who claimed bronze at the Irish Cross Country Championships, also won the Leeds Abbey Dash 10k in November where she ran a personal best 33:30.

Photo: Lindie Naughton

The Armagh AC athlete is joined in the quartet by Olympic marathoner Breege Connolly, Teresa Doherty and Nakita Burke who have all put in excellent performances at the Irish Cross Country Championships and domestic road races.

RELATED: Ben Branagh and Nakita Burke win Seeley Cup 10k

Northern Ireland has also named its Celtic Cross Country team for under-17, under-20 and under-23 athletes in the January fixture.

Eoin Hughes, Craig McMeechan and Rebekah Nixon are among the under-23 team, while Grace Carson and Conal McLean feature in the under-20 team.

The Scotland team for the cross country meet has also been announced and can be found here.

Home Countries senior team

Men: Conor Duffy, Adam Kirk-Smith, Mark McKinstry and Declan Reed
Women: Nakita Burke, Breege Connolly, Teresa Doherty and Fionnuala Ross

Celtic XC team

U17 men: Jack Holian, Matthew Lavery, Sean McGinley and Callum Morgan
U17 women: Amy Greene, Cara Laverty, Tara McDonough and Sorcha Mullan

U20 men: Adam Ferris, Peter Gracey, Micael McCaul and Conal McLean
U20 women: Grace Carson, Niamh Carr, Sarah Kelly and Rebecca Wallace

U23 men: Luke Dinsmore, Eoin Hughes, Craig McMeechan and Fintan Stewart
U23 women: Edel Monaghan and Rebekah Nixon

RELATED: Fastest 10,000m female runner this year set for Northern Ireland’s top cross country event

Are you a fan of Fast Running? Then please support us and become a patron. For as little as the price of a monthly magazine you can support Fast Running – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.